Review-The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

I read the Scorch Trials and I’ll tell it is way more better than the Maze Runner. Read on..
download-1

Book cover blurb

Solving the maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escaping meant he would get his life back. But no one knew what sort of life they were going back to…
Burned and baked, the earth is a wasteland, it’s people driven mad by an infection kniwn as the Flare.
Instead of freedom, Thomas must face another trial. He must cross the Scorch to once again save himself and his friends…

My review

I loved how the story continued from the point where the Maze Runner ended. It was clearly one of the best series I have read. The book was gripping me to the end and I was avoiding all the work just finish this.

Plot

WICKED has a new plan for the remaining Gladers as they are now required to cross the Scorch which is now a burnt place from the terrible rays of the sun to reach a safe haven from where they will be provided the cure. Cure for the disease Flare which somewhat makes the people look like zombies and makes them lose their humanity and slowly capturing their brain and converting them into behaving-like-animal- people.

Characters

The characters are still great as the first book. There are various new entries-Aris, a boy from a similar Maze called Group B, Brenda and Jorge, both half Cranks who decide to help all to reach the Safe haven. And also about 20 new girls who escaped the Group B maze just like Thomas and his friends.

Writing style

The writing style still amazes me as James leaves the chapter to end at such an abrupt point that you are forced to continue reading. Also the secrets kept and their revelation was done at the most perfect time by telling the readers just when Thomas get to know it. It means the reader can truly imagine himself from Thomas’s point of view.

*confession* I nearly cried when I reached almost the ending of this book. I usually only cry when watching movies and this was so real that I was literally stopping my tears to flow down. I don’t know if you’ll be as affected by the ‘thing’ Thomas has to face (I’m strictly not trying to give any spoilers). But you should all read this series at least once.

Till then…
Happy Reading!!

Vrushali♡

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

