Review- Toxin by Robin Cook

I completed this book which was a part of my library book haul.
It was the very first book of the medical thriller genre which I had not read till now. Surprisingly I liked this book, though after reading the first 20 pages I thought of abandoning it but I took a deep long breath and continued to read it anyway and I’m happy that I did read it.

image

Book cover blurb

Recently divorced surgeon Dr. Kim Reggis is determined to remain a good father to his only child, Becky. One night he takes her to a fast-food restaurant for a feast of burgers and fries, but tragedy strikes when the young girl falls ill. She dies horrifically several days later, as a result of poisoning by E.coli bacteria.
Everything suggest her death was the result of shoddy food-handling practices, but who is going to admit that?
Frantic with grief, Kim throws all his energies into tracing the cause of the contamination. He is well prepared for bureaucratic indifference, but is soon met with terrifying violence as powerful vested interests conspire to discourage his enquiries.
Aided by his ex-wife, Kim purses a deadly trail of complicity and guilt stretching from the slaughterhouse floor to the corporate boardroom.  And, in a race against time before others are poisoned, they finally come face to face with the shocking and elusive truth…meanwhile putting their own lives in extreme danger.

My review

That blurb pretty much gave the story away on the back cover.
Also I would not recommend this anyone who eats ground beef or any kind of beef. Please never read it because if you do you’ll regret it. It’s only because the whole book contains various incidences in the beef slaughterhouse and they are not very pleasant to read if you eat it.
Rest the story was really slow the first few pages but then it picked up its pace and from there it has been quite a journey! It was so fast with the protagonist running here and there, getting chased by a psycho stalker and then getting along with his ex-wife.

Characters

The characters were well developed and I liked the transformation of Kim from an ignorant and complaining dad to a caring parent and a reformed husband. Becky was really an adorable kid!

Plot

I think that the blurb told the whole plot. But it was a good plot but it will probably suit all the medical students. Too many medical theories!

Writing style

The writing style was really nice for I didn’t have a clue about Robin Cook so keeping that in mind it was pretty easy read.
So do tell me if you have read it or own it but not yet read!
Till then..
Happy Reading!

Vrushali♡

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student on the path to become an accountant but that doesn't stop me from loving books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that make life worth living. Check out my

7 thoughts on “Review- Toxin by Robin Cook”

  1. Sounds like a fun read. Medical thriller seem pretty rare. Have you read The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton? I haven’t, but I’m assuming that it falls in the same category and might be something worth checking out (I do plan on doing so… some day when my TBR list is a lot smaller).

    – Lashaan

    Like

    1. I also haven’t read it. But thanks for telling me I’ll surely read it when I’ll find it.
      And I also picked up this because a medical thriller is not what everyone gets to read everyday!
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No..I haven’t!
      I also saw one more book by Tobin Cook named Coma and I thought that almost all his books revolve only around operations or medical things gone wrong! He is a doctor so I should kinda expect that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

