Review- Live in with a ghost by Kritika Sharma

Finally a book review! I read this book last week and I couldn’t find the time to write a review. And when I wrote the review, I forgot to post it! I’d give this book a 2.5/5 just because it was too short! Man, give me some more pages! It’s only a 150 page novel!
Book cover blurb
Jia and Jai have a unique love story where she is human and he is a ghost. They meet during an out-of-body experience after an accident. Although from different worlds, she is simple middle-class journalist and he is a rich playboy, they fall in love instantly. During the adventure of their relation they both go through various exciting events which include tears, laughter, love. Throughout their relation, the only thing Jia fears is what is he wakes up and forgets her. And in the end of the story he does wake up but if he remembers her is yet to be known..

image

My review
For those non-Indians who don’t know, in India a slight swap in the spelling of a name can alter the gender like in this novel Jia is the girl and Jai is the boy. Funny huh?
This is a really short novel, a 150 pages and very fast. The author doesn’t believe in too much character building and she goes with the story. And yet I didn’t hate it. Sometimes it’s good to read a fast-paced book concentrating on the story more than the characters.
Characters
As I said the characters were not fully narrated until they speak for themselves and tell more about themselves in their short conversations. Jai is clearly a spoilt brat and he is a playboy or was a playboy and now a oh-now-I-know-that-I-hurted-many-girls-but-now-I’m-reformed character. Jia is a journalist working day and night without complaining and always listening to what other people said but after she met Jai she realised she is the one who has to take her decisions. She can’t always listen to others and stop living her way.
Plot
The plot starts with Jia waking up in a room and then realising she is in a hospital but she’s not alone. She sees a man staring at her. He runs forward and is very happy to see her. He is Jai. Slowly Jia comes to know that she now does not exist in her body rather she is in the second dimension where she is ghost and her body is in coma. They talk for half a day and then Jia comes back. But it looks like she doesn’t remember her short encounter with Jai.
Then she again sees a man and she gets a feeling of deja vu. She can see Jai in the ghost form! Here starts the journey of failing in love. But what they don’t remember is that Jai is still a ghost and when he wakes up he will forget her. But he promises her that he’ll always remember her. What will happen? Will he forget her? Will her power of love make him remember her?
Writing style
The writing style was good and I can’t say great because that is reserved for some Pride & Prejudice type of novels! No seriously, I liked it and I finished it in a day but I’ll not recommend someone to BUY it and read. You can surely borrow from a library or a friend but using your money here will not give you any great results. And if you already own it then please honor others by lending them for a short fun read.
I was provided with this paperback copy from the author in a Goodreads giveaway.
Till then..
Happy Reading!

-Vrushali

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student on the path to become an accountant but that doesn't stop me from loving books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that make life worth living. Check out my

6 thoughts on “Review- Live in with a ghost by Kritika Sharma”

Leave a Reply

