This or That? Challenge #17

image

This week’s challenge by Bookmark Chronicles is John Green vs. John Green. Check it out-
          

PAPER TOWNS
               or
  THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

If you haven’t read any of them or both you can read their blirbs and answer!
The Fault in Our Stars:
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
Paper Towns:
Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…
Let my rant begin..
I fully agree with Rae for thinking that The Fault on our Stars is just a normal love story. Surely it is very humorously written. I liked some of the scenes and some quotes. Like I love this scene just because it’s written very nicely. Or I should say Nicely phrased.

My dad: “Emily this risotto…”
My mom: “It’s just delicious”
Gus’s mom: “Oh thanks. I’d be happy to give you the recipe.”
Gus swallowing a bite- “You know the primary taste I’m getting in not Oran-jee.”
Me: “Good observation, Gus. This food, while delicious, does not taste like Oran-jee.”
My mom: “Hazel”
Gus: “It tastes like…”
Me: “Food.”
Gus: “Yes, precisely. It tastes like food excellently prepared. But it does not taste like, how do I put this delicately…?”
Me: “It does not taste like God himself cooked heaven into a series of five dishes which were then served to you accompanied by several luminous balls of fermented, bubbly plasma, while actual and literal flower petals floated down all around your canal-side dinner table.”
Gus: “Nicely phrased.”
Gus’s father: “Our children are weird.”
My father: “Nicely phrased”

Other than that there is no real story except two kids, cancer patients if you say, travel to Amsterdam just to meet a author and that author is a crazy person. And he mistreats them and yet they have a lovely vacation. And then in the end Gus dies. He dies. The person I loved reading dies. His dialogues were really fun to read but the end was a little weird.
But I’ve not read the Paper Towns so I can’t really compare but I’d like to go with The Fault In our Stars. It’s not even that bad. Only a little bit illogical. According to me. Sorry TFIOS obsessive loving people!

-Vrushali

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

6 thoughts on “This or That? Challenge #17”

Leave a Reply

