Review- The Host (The Host #1) by Stephanie Meyer

image

Book cover blurb
Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that takes over the minds of their human hosts while leaving thier bodies intact, and most of humanity has succumbed.
Wanderer, the invading ‘soul’ who has been given Melanie’s body, knew about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the too-vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.
Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of the man Melanie loves- Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer yearns for a man she’s never met. As outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off to search for the man they both love.
Featuring what may be the first love triangle involving only two bodies, The Host is a riveting and unforgettable novel that will bring a vast new readership to one of the most compelling writers of our time.

I’d never lived on a planet where such atrocities could happen, even before the souls came. This place was truly the highest and the lowest of all worlds-the most beautiful senses, the most exquisite emotions…the most malevolent desires, the darkest deeds. Perhaps it was meant to be so. Perhaps without the lows, the highs could not be reached. Were the souls the exception to that rule? Could they have the light without the darkness of this world?

Review
This book is written by Stephanie Meyer. If I say I liked it…or maybe loved it, will you hate me? Please don’t hate me! This book was not what I thought it would be. Really! I made a bad decision to read its review by other people on Goodreads. And they all pretty much considered it as a average read. Which it is not! Okay I loved the Twilight series too but you can’t blame me. I loved to read it I’ll probably not reread it but it was worth one read guys!
Anyway back to this book, I think at the start of this novel I wanted to throw it because you see the writer doesn’t tell you anything and waits for you to figure everything out (which is good) but I was not able to form what was she trying to tell. But I continued to read. And then it was so good with the love triangle. Actually it was a love rectangle. Let me explain it to you Melanie is the body and Wanderer ( later called as Wanda) is the soul. And Ian loves Wanda, the soul and Jared loves Melanie, the body. So you see both are really actually Melanie and hence both the guys get pretty jealous of each other. And I loved how they got jealous!
All the scenes were relatable and Wanderer often got confused when something happened abruptly which is good because that’s purely human.

I shrug, and my stomach flutters. “It’s beautiful here.”
He looks around us. “Yes. But then, isn’t home always beautiful? “
“Home.” I repeat the word quietly.  “Home”
“Your home too, if you want it.”
“I want it.” It seems like every mile I’ve walked in the past three years has been toward this place.

Characters
The characters were the best part of this book. If the characters sucked, I would’ve DNFed it a long time ago. But they were all interesting and caring like Jamie, Melanie younger brother. And some were really mean and annoying and I hated them!

Writing style
The scenes were written greatly and I will continue to adore them. And I liked the writing though it was a bit confusing at first. And this is the first part of the trilogy so I guess this book made me wait for the second one. And the best part? It was a 600 pages novel! ( I know I’m weird!)

At last this was really worth my time. And if you wondered how I read it with my studies, I want to tell you that I wasted utilized my whole day today reading it and told my mother that I needed break for a day after the whole last week spent studying!
I recommend it to those who want to read novel by an author you hate (if you hate her!) and know that she’s not that bad!
I think I’d give it 4 stars.
To add it to your Goodreads TBR click here.

-Vrushali

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

11 thoughts on “Review- The Host (The Host #1) by Stephanie Meyer”

  1. Stephanie Meyer…hmm I’ve always had mixed opinions on her. I’ve never read this book, but I did try the Twilight Saga and never got into them, though some of my friends were obsessed! I did enjoy the movies a lot, lot more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you should read ahead. The first 100 pages were so boring that I considered to leave it too. But I always feel guilty when I don’t finish a book so I continued. And after 50 more pages I started to like it. Glad I finished it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

