Eloquent English #8- New Year Resolutions

image

Hey everybody! It’s the 26. It means we are just 5 days away from 2016!!
I suppose you already know that!
So when everyone is busy making new year resolutions, I decided to share a poem, which is not written by me but I read it somewhere and was kind enough to write it down.
Here it is.
NEW YEAR RESOLUTION
I will not throw the cat out the window
Or put a frog in my sister’s bed
I will not tie my brother’s shoelace together
Nor jump from the roof of Dad’s shed
I shall remember my aunt’s next birthday
And tidy my room once a week
I will not moan at mum’s cooking
(Ugh! Fish fingers again!)
Nor give her any more of my cheek
I will not pick my nose if I can help it
I shall fold up my clothes, comb my hair
I will say please and thank you
(Even when I don’t mean it)
And never spit or shout or even swear
I shall write each day in my diary
Try my hardest to be helpful at school
I shall help old ladies cross roads
(Even if they don’t want to)
And when others are rude, I’ll stay cool
I’ll go to bed with the owls and
Be up with the larks
And close every door behind me
I shall squeeze from the bottom of every toothpaste
And stay where trouble can’t find me
I shall start again, turn over a new leaf,
Leave my bad old ways forever
Shall is start them this year, or next year
Shall I sometime, or….?

Haha…I will set my resolutions and start them this year only.
What about you? You got any New Year resolutions?

-Vrushali

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

13 thoughts on “Eloquent English #8- New Year Resolutions”

  1. That poem is really good! I am not very good with new year resolutions (New Year resolutions? Pah!) so I don’t try to keep any resolutions. Nice post, by the way! Thanks for stopping by at The Girl Who Leapt Through Fandom!
    P.S. Hope you have luck with your resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

