Camp NaNoWriMo Update – Why I’m No Longer Continuing It

download
which I’m no longer!

The Camp NaNoWiMo started on July 1 and here is what I did during this week –

DAY 1

WORD COUNT- 1708

MY DAY- My day started good as I was excited for writing for the first day of NaNoWriMo. I started writing thinking it was too easy to write 5000 words a day but when I actually started writing, I knew it is not that easy. Hah, I picked up my speed and wrote.

DAY 2

WORD COUNT- 1127

MY DAY- My day went kind of lazily. I made a water colour painting for the World Water Colour Month and the rest of the time I just read. Also I received The Night Circus! Yay! And after the thousands of good reviews I read about it I’m very excited to read it. But not too many expectations; it ruins the book, right?

 

DAY 3

WORD COUNT- 1199

MY DAY- It was a Sunday and I decided to write more because practically I’ll be with the laptop the whole day. But my plans failed badly and in the evening I decided to make up and wrote 1127 words. Pretty great for something written in such a short period of time. I wish I had written from the morning but I was too lazy.

DAY 4

WORD COUNT- 406

MY DAY- I painted during the day, did some studying (even though I’m on a holiday) and slept my heart’s desire and in the evening I started writing but after an hour of watching TV and writing simultaneously I preferred the TV and stopped writing. On an average I have to write 12500 a week and unfortunately in this week I wrote 4440 words. It means I have to write 8060 words more in just 3 days. Can I achieve it? I think so. Let’s see.

 

DAY 5

WORD COUNT- 285

MY DAY – After about 4 days I’m starting to get bored. Partly because I don’t have a good story and I don’t know what to do with it and partly because I can’t seem to write with a deadline. I have been completing the Water colour paintings for posting every day and that seems a bit of a work for me. the rest of the time I read and study for some time.

DAY 6

WORD COUNT – 0

MY DAY- I didn’t write anything. I thought of writing something in the evening but canceled it too. I think I’m not ready for Camp NaNoWriMo. I have been meaning to take part in the November NaNoWriMo and I guess I’ll plan ahead of time and try then.

 

DAY 7

WORD COUNT – 0

My day – After a day with no word count, I’m sadly abandoning this project. I’ll write whenever I feel like it and I’ll complete this book but for now I don’t think I can complete this. But I’m happy about the fact that I wrote some 4700+ words in four days and I’ll do some more later.

Unfortunately, I have left Camp NaNoWriMO. I think I better sharpen my writing skills with other forms of writing like some short stories, essays or articles. But right now I don’t think I’ll do something productive with my time taking part this time.

I know it’s a challenge to just write but what’s the point in investing so much time and writing and then thinking what I have written is not good enough for a novel.

But next I promise to write something useful and worth my time.

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student on the path to become an accountant but that doesn't stop me from loving books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that make life worth living. Check out my

8 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update – Why I’m No Longer Continuing It”

    1. Yes I feel bad about why I left it midway when I was doing pretty well the first few days but then I have other things to do and my unplanned novel had to stop. But I know now that I’m not a pantser!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. Sometimes NaNoWriMo is so exhausting that life becomes hectic. I didn’t realize that when I first started the challenge but now that I have World Water Colour Month to focus on, it sure has to take a back seat. And as for my November NaNo, I’m completely not sure about taking part. I need to improve my writing by other sources as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your water paintings are beautiful!

    I understand your feelings as to why you left, but CampNaNo is different from November’s NaNoWriMo, as any form of writing is totaled towards your goal! So let’s say you decided to write a little bit on your blog every day, that counts as words towards the goal you set!

    There is no pressure though, and when it stops being fun and only a duty, it can be better to step away. I wish you the very best in whatever you decide to do. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Your words definitely made me feel so much better. I was feeling guilty for the way I left writing but I never thought about this way; I’m writing things but not the novel. So it’s too taking me towards the word goal. Thanks again for your kind words. I too hope you immense success in your life!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

