Book Review – All the bright places by Jennifer Niven

download

PLOT

The plot was not the most unique plots that have ever amused the people on Earth but still it connected. It connected to the level I can’t possibly explain. I know it has something to do with my brain and the hormones it produced when I read this book but believe me they were good hormones.

Two people accidently meet on the top of the Bell Tower, both trying to attempt suicide. Both of them don’t and then pair up for a school project which required the students to go to the major attractions of the town and note whatever they saw.

The book survived only on this story and as I ‘m typing this I realize that this is the simplest plot I’ve heard of. Two people meet for a project and they fall in love.

There was a single and tiny thing that I wanted to point out.

~THE TEXT IN RED IS A SPOILER TO THE BOOK ~ 

I didn’t like that in the end the author lets suicide win. It meant that anyone should end their life and just gain that peace that they’ve been searching for. It’s just a little thing that made me think about.

~ END OF SPOILERS ~

CHARACTERS

Theodore Finch is one of the most complex characters in the fictional world. He does what he thinks is right and most of the time it isn’t close to right but his intentions are right, just the way he does what he does is a bit too loud, I guess. He is sure intelligent and knows what to do. (I’m talking about the book’s last part. The ones who have red this know what I mean!)

Violet Markey is a girl who is still in the stage of grieving after 9 months of her sister’s death. She tries to commit suicide, unsure of really how to do it. She is talked through it by Finch and it saves her. She is a writer but she left writing anything after her sister’s death but after she meets Finch she starts writing again.

I love the fact that they both complement each other and inspire each other to do something good.

WRITING STYLE

The writing style is so smooth that I never thought about it after the books starts; and it’s a good sign. A good writer’s story is the one you flow by reading and don’t really concentrate while reading.

I read the book in almost 5-6 hours and that’s when I couldn’t stop myself. I wanted to know the end of the book and I wasn’t going to sleep and waste time so instead I stayed up late and read the whole book!

And it was a blessing that all of the people in my house were sleeping and I was the one only awake because what came next couldn’t be seen by anyone. I ugly cried. Yes, I did. And you will too; unless you a) you have a heart of rock, or b) your tear glands don’t work.

MY REVIEW

This is one of the best books I’ve read in this year and I’m glad I picked though it being a contemporary novel (I don’t usually read those, but I’m GLAD I read this)

You’ll like it if:-

  • You like contemporary reads.
  • You like a short, sweet and romantic book
  • You are okay of the fact that this book’s main plot contains suicide
  • You are okay with the fact that you’d be ending your read with ugly crying
  • You are okay with the fact that you probably have to read this book in some little corner of your room where nobody visits but you

 

You’ll not like it if:-

  • You are not okay of the fact that this book’s main plot contains suicide
  • You don’t like short and sweet books, you need something deep and thoughtful like a sci-fi read maybe.
  • You are not okay with the fact that you’d be ending your read with ugly crying
  • You are not okay knowing that you have to sit in privacy

 

 

I give it 4.5/5 stars just because of that small problem.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – All the bright places by Jennifer Niven

  1. This is one of my top favorite novels of this year, so I’m really glad you enjoyed it! I agree that Theodore was a very complex character, and yes, the writing was pretty enjoyable & easy to read. Wonderful review! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I wanted to write a review on the day I read it but I knew the review would contain too many “ohmygod ohmygod this is incredible” so I resisted and posted a little later.

      Like

Leave a Reply

