DAY 25 #World Water Colour Month

 

This is Day 25 of the World Water Colour Month and I drew a pair of men’s eyes.

IMG_20160725_202147

I have made mostly women’s portraits or features because I’m too scared to draw men’s. The latter are a bit rough and hard and women’s are more soft and graceful. But the main reason I started doing this challenge was to draw things that I have not yet tried apart from painting regularly.

I saw a pencil sketch and I decided to paint it with water colours on my own. And the best things is that I decided all the colours on my own, deciding which tones and shades to paint. Normally, I don’t change the colours of a painting I see and copy it directly. I know it is not good for me as an artist but at least I know how to paint using the different techniques other artists use.

But slowly with practice I’m learning to paint on my own. Similarly, I don’t draw with my own imagination but copy people’s sketches that I find interesting and honestly the sketch never looks same as the artist who drew it. But I’m happy that I can copy them.

What do you think? Is imagination more important or drawing skills? I’d love to know your opinion!

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

2 thoughts on “DAY 25 #World Water Colour Month”

Leave a Reply

