Book review- The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

images

BOOK COVER BLURB

The Louvre, Paris: The elderly curator of the museum has been violently murdered in the Grand Gallery. Harvard professor Robert Langdon is summoned to decipher the baffling codes which the police find alongside the body. As he and a gifted French cryptologist, Sophie Neveu, sort through the bizarre riddles, they are stunned to find a trail that leads to the works of Leonardo Da Vinci – and suggests the answer to an age-old mystery that stretches deep into the vault of history.

PLOT

First of all I have to mention the beautiful cover of this book. I don’t know why I like it so much, it’s not even that beautiful in terms of something artistic but still I just sometimes take the book and just pet it. Book petting is a legit thing, you know. I think it has something to do with the cover being red that I like it so much.

So moving on, this book starts when Robert finds himself in Paris and a museum curator is murdered, brutally. The crime scene has many clues and mentioning of Robert’s name is a big twist in the story. Finding his name on the crime scene, the police of Paris run behind Robert trying to capture him. And between this chaos, Robert meets Sophie Neveu, a French cryptologist. She helps him decipher all the clues that the curator left.

They embark on a journey of a lot of finding and a lot of brain smashing. And all this is just an adventure of one day. I was very, very impressed about the fact that the author researched so much about Leonardo Da Vinci and his inventions. Like the stories and facts mentioned in the book are real and very interesting to read about. I always learn after I read a Dan Brown novel because of all the concepts mentioned in the book. For example, I encountered the concept of phi being the ‘the divine proportion’.

And I would like to mention a thing that I noticed in the second Robert Landon book I’m reading that Robert always gets a female partner to solve his mysteries with him and in the end he ends up getting involved romantically with them. The books in the series are chronologically arranged and so every incident happens after one book ends and so his weird relationships are.. weird.

CHARACTERS

The characters are so well developed they seem actually seem like a true person. Like I feel I actually met them in my life before and had a nice chat with them. I would love that, if you’re wondering!

Robert is just..so so intelligent. And at times childish with his mickey mouse watch! He always is prepared for a new adventure and puts all his energy into it.

Sophie is a new character that is introduced in this book and she has her own mysteries which are later revealed in the book. I also don’t want to spoil anything for you, if you haven’t read the book yet so I’m choosing what I can tell to you. She also helps Robert and sometimes she is the one taking a class on history, with us, with Professor Langdon!

There are many other characters including a character that requires a special mention because of the fact how good of a character is he. And he is Leigh Teabing! He was so awesome and his remarks are what made me laugh so hard. He is just a gentleman with a British attitude!

Robert looked amused. “I would have thought you’d import an English staff?”

“Good heavens, no! I would not wish an English chef on anyone except the French tax collectors.” He glanced over at Sophie. “Pardonnez-moi, Mademoiselle Neveu. Please be assured that my distaste for the French extends only to politics and the soccer pitch. Your government steals my money, and your football squad recently humiliated us.”

WRITING STYLE

The writing style, I already have said, is just perfect for this type of book. He switches his perspective from one character to another, discovering other character’s story from their perspective. And the best part is that every character has their own different, distinct voice. When the character speaks it looks like that the character really is telling their side of story.

MY REVIEW

I would give it a 5/5. But technically I would have given 4.75 because of the fact the story looked a little repeated to me sometimes but the great story and research covered up for it.

You can check out my review of another book of the Robert Langdon series- Inferno.

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student on the path to become an accountant but that doesn't stop me from loving books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that make life worth living. Check out my

3 thoughts on “Book review- The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown”

Leave a Reply

