Book Review- Hart Broken (#1) by Annie Arcane [The Best Romantic Book Ever!!]

download

BOOK BLURB

Mickey Hart doesn’t do one-night stands. Until she wakes up in a luxury penthouse. With nothing but a t-shirt. And no idea who it belongs to.

Enter Cale Windermere. Driven. Ambitious. Successful. And so gorgeous he could’ve walked straight out of a romance novel…

Except I can’t walk.

Not that it ever stops me from getting what I want.

And I want her.

Even if she’s keeping secrets.

That could tear me to f*cking shreds.

PLOT

First of let me tell you, you would not expect the story to be what it is. I thought of this as a “bad-boy-good-girl” story in which the bad boy is on a wheelchair. But oh no no…you don’t want to underestimate the story. As soon as the story starts I have a clear view of what is going on and who is who.

There are two main characters (there will be as it is a romantic story so..) Cale and Mickey. Mickey finds herself in someone’s bed but she doesn’t know where she is but then it turns out to be the most unexpected place- a condo of a very rich handsome man named Cale. I loved him! And that’s probably an understatement. He is such a gentleman and absolutely not a bad boy and after reading this I thought about how boring it is to read about main characters as bad boys. They should be courteous and just good at heart. His introduction is also epic (Haha!)

“Cale Windermere.”, he said, sticking out his hand.

“C-Cale?”

“Yeah. Like the leafy green, just take off the K and replace with a C.”

Then we meet Mickey who is a simple girl who has some problems. (Don’t wait for more I’m not going to tell any spoilers. Go read the book!) And the author Annie Arcane wrote in an interview that the character of Mickey is exactly like her. And after reading this I too think that she is like me. I too have that problem (Hint: It’s not a disease. It’s just is a thing. I really don’t want to give any spoilers) And the story revolves around how they both overcome their own problems- Cale’s accident which leaves him on the wheelchair and Mickey’s problem.

CHARACTERS

The characters are the best thing that happened with this book. I mean it! The characters are so real that after the book all I wanted to do was have all the characters as my friends (except Ashley. Those who have read this book will know why.)

I’ve already told you about Mickey and Cale. Melinda, or Mel is Mickey’s best friend and so sweet and her boyfriend Jason is so funny! Both Mel and Mickey are always making him work so much!

There are more characters which just add good things to the book.

WRITING STYLE

Now talking about the writing style is what is making me smile here. The writing is so sarcastic and witty and hilarious. The book shifts between the point of views of Mickey and Cale and I enjoyed them both so much. God, I can’t stop gushing about Cale. And Annie Arcane wrote the struggles and problems of a wheelchair-bound person so correctly that half the time I was feeling so bad for Cale.

The best thing about this book are the dialogues. I always stress upon the importance of dialogues in any fiction book. Give me a bad story but just make the dialogues so awesome that I may not be able to put it down and this was just exactly I would’ve wanted.

MY REVIEW

You’ll like it if:

  • If you’re a human and if you’re not welcome on the Earth, Mr. Alien!
  • If you want another Book Boyfriend to top your list!
  • If you’re a romance book lover and you want another book to devour
  • If you’re not a romance lover, you’ll love this (see me!)

 

You’ll not like it if:

  • As I said you’re not human
  • If you don’t read then I think there is no chance to make you read (though I’ll try my best to make you read till you cry and finally read it and then we’ll cry together for different reasons altogether. ;P

And after all this if you have to think about what I’m going to rate it then…

So I’m going to give it…

*drum roll please*

5/5 stars!!!

A special mention:

I normally don’t do this but this is a special case. The author Annie Arcane requested to read this book and even if I was reluctant at first to even read it (because it is a romance novel and I don’t normally do romantic!) but I’m so so glad I accepted it and here I am constantly thinking about the book (Cale to be more specific!) And the I loved the author both as a writer and even more as a person. She’s so funny even in real life and I couldn’t contain myself not to email her about every little thing. And she was more than kind to reply to every one of them.

And I think when a book is so good, you try to make people read it and want that be such a successful book. And so this is the first time that I’m doing this and I hope that this continues in future as well, I going to recommend this to everyone and I really really hope that you read it. If you love reading give this book and the author a little love and appreciation.

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student on the path to become an accountant but that doesn't stop me from loving books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that make life worth living. Check out my

7 thoughts on “Book Review- Hart Broken (#1) by Annie Arcane [The Best Romantic Book Ever!!]”

  1. Vrushali,

    I can’t even pretend to be professional right now because wow. Just wow. Thank you so, so, sooo much for taking a chance on some romance (eww, I know haha!) and for the amazing review AND for being an absolute gem of a person!

    Please take this: ♥

    Gratefully,
    Ann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

