Book Review – City of Bones by Classandra Clare

Hey!

I’m back with another book review and this is the book I’ve been excited about for many weeks and so I dared enough to buy the whole book set.

And I’d say I like this book cover more..

download

Than this…

download-1

because somehow I don’t like the idea of having a naked Jace on the front very appealing..

Disclaimer: This would be a little of fangirling review because seriously you want me to not fangirl? And this will probably contain some spoilers but I won’t be spoiling the book for those of you who had not yet read this book (because it’s been like 3 years since the whole “Shadowhunter Phase” and I’m betting that most of you all would have read these but if you lived under a rock, like me, from so long and had not for some reason read these, no worries!)

BOOK COVER BLURB

Clary Fray is seeing things: vampires in Brooklyn and werewolves in Manhattan. Irresistibly drawn to the Shadowhunters, a secret cadre of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, Clary encounters the dark side of New York City – and the dangers of forbidden love.

PLOT

The book cover blurb basically gives the whole short and sweet summary of the world Clary is newly experiencing. She met new people, known as Shadowhunters, not at a good time because they were killing a demon. She is sucked into their world and she gets to know that all the things that she used to imagine are now true from vampires to faeries to restaurants that serve locusts with honey.

All of a sudden she gets to know that the world is kept a secret from Clary by her own mother, who due to some reasons doesn’t want Clary to hold any relation. And then one day her mother gets kidnapped by who is known as the Overlord himself (The Voldemort of The Mortal Instruments to be exact!). She struggles to find a way to get her mother back and in the process befriends some Shadowhunter kids Jace and brother-sister Alec and Isabelle.

And we follow Clary in her adventures to fit in the world she was destined to be.

CHARACTERS

The characters are the best part of this book. I’ll take all the characters one by one.

Clary – So basically Clary is a lost child in this new world, I mean who wouldn’t be? But she’s not the ‘hero type’ and needs a lot of saving. This is the reason anyone could relate to her. There are many, many secrets unveiled in this book and she acts like a normal teenager would do. But somehow, somewhere she seems a little bit annoying to me and I can’t point out where or how to be precise, but she is just…annoying. She randomly slaps Jace twice in this book in which I can understand only the first time she does it. But the second time it felt like she is a bit mad person with her hands slapping people in the most normal cases. Many people would think that she trails behind Jace all the time but when you consider it Jace being the only person that cares enough about her to see whether she’s living or not, she would naturally hang with him.

Simon – Simon is Clary’s 10 year best friend who is normal human. And I think he was the character I loved reading about. He’s quirky and funny and compares like with a video game. And he has a major crush on Clary, which she obviously doesn’t know because…she’s stupid I guess. He is a human and still he balances the Shadowhunter’s weird behaviour (they act like Edward from Twilight if you’re trying to picturise it)

Jace – I seriously don’t get what the appeal of Jace is all about. I mean before I read this book I saw everyone in the fandom be like “OHMYGOD Jace!! He’s so swoon worthy” But I never liked him in this book. He was so over obsessed with himself and he looked a little over confident to me (sorry Team Jace) but I’d happily choose Team Simon for this one! And half the time Jace is like helping Clary and the other half sulking and completely ignoring Clary or being rude to her. And even after being so confusing Clary just longs to stay with him.

Alec – I thought Alec could be a good character but we don’t really see that much of him in this book though I know he’s got a pretty good role in this series. All we know is that he hates Clary and loves Jace.

Isabelle – Isabelle is that badass beauty character who fights like a pro and dresses to kill. She is also not given that much role in this book but I’d like to see more of her. The contrast of Clary and Isabelle is also good to see where both the girls secretly envy each other.

Hodge – Hodge is like a father figure to the Shadowhunter children and he trains and mentors them. But if you’ve read the book I’m sure you wouldn’t have seen that plot twist coming. Am I right? Yes, I am. And I basically was like:

200

WRITING STYLE

The dialogues!!!!What really made this book really great were the dialogues. I am openly admitting that I can really love a book which has great dialogues even if the story is a little ‘meh’.

And the twists! I mean I saw a few of them coming but others… I was like “How the hell did this happen?” I had to literally turn the pages back to reread the things that I missed and which became this huge plot twist.

This book was really a great read for me because I’m not into YA that much and this made me reconsider my favourite genres. I am really, really excited to complete the whole series now that I have bought them all at once.

MY REVIEW

I’d say if you’re a book lover and you’d like to read something good over the weekend you can give this a try. I don’t really have any reason to not read it but if you’re not into this YA/dystopian thing, you should probably skip this. But I would recommend it anyway. A big 5/5 stars!

I’d love to hear what you think about this? Let’s talk!

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

5 thoughts on “Book Review – City of Bones by Classandra Clare”

  1. Yay! I’m so excited that you finally got to read it! When reading your thoughts about the characters I started to get a little anxiety that you would say you didn’t like it at all. But I became excited when I started your dialogue part! 🙂 I’m so happy that you liked it! You will like the rest of the series, there are MANY more twists! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Now that I think of it I think I was a littl harsh on the characters. They were awesome and I’m like waiting to read the next one because I know ill finish them in a week ( and I want to savour them)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

