Three Tips To Ace Your Exams

There are many tips that can make you a better student and this post is no different. But the way I see it studying becomes really simple if you know these three simple tricks.

download

But I’m no expert in these matters but these tricks helped me a lot and I hope that they help you too to become an expert in studies.

 

  • The first thing that you should remember is: Please don’t try to study on the bed. I was very guilty of this habit and I’m glad to say that I changed it and since then I’ve experienced a massive increase of interest in my study habits. It’s best to have a desk or table that you can use every time you do homework. If you associate that environment with work, you can actually start to focus faster; that’s why doing homework in bed isn’t such a great idea. You associate that environment with sleeping, not studying. Keep your work area well stocked with pens, pencils, notebook, and textbooks — anything you’ll need to do your assignments.

 

  • The next thing is developing your studying timetable. Don’t give yourself too much stress by studying for 2-3 hours straight. Allow yourself some time off; you’re only human. You can follow the “40 minute study rule”. The “40 minute study rule” tells that you should study for 40 minutes straight and then take a 5 minute minutes break. You can increase it to 10 minutes too. But don’t do any distracting activity during this break like watching TV or going online. They are activities that distract you from studying and it would be very difficult to recover after the break to study again. Do something light like talking a brisk walk or stretching.

 

  • And the last thing to remember is study regularly. That’s it. Even if you have a year or even half a year to prepare for your exams, study regularly. Make your timetable and allot some hours on each day. The hours you have to decide can me totally up to your needs, total syllabus or your capacity to study. Then study regularly. It is the simplest method to score good consistently. Because of the regular studies you’ll not even feel the pressure of the syllabus swallowing you during the examinations.

And if you tried these, tell me in the comments below if they worked!

 

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

6 thoughts on “Three Tips To Ace Your Exams”

  1. As a teacher (and obviously former student!) I concur! I’d also add that cramming never works. The night before is the night where you should relax as much as possible, because you need a good night’s sleep. Go over your notes, try and be calm because YOU GOT THIS SHIT, revise again the next day before your exam, but that’s about it. If you don’t know it by the night before, you’re not going to know it. The best you’ll do is pick up a few extra details (which is great), but your mind won’t retain the bulk of that information.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so correct! I’ll include this the next time for sure! People, myself included, take stress for the exam in the next day and often forget to relax my brain. And it’s true that if you don’t know by the night, you are not going to know it. Totally agree!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

