Friday Art #15- Life and Oil Paints 

I just started learning how to use oil paints. They were a bit difficult at first, just like life was. There is absolutely no handbook or guide to use paints and to live life. I read many articles online in a bid to figure out just what I was missing. I couldn’t find a single article or video to teach me everything, from the start. I guess it doesn’t happen that way. You have to figure out everything yourself. Just like living life.

I lost hope and stopped searching for the answers (at this point I don’t even know what I’m talking about, painting or life!) Then I had a savior. One person solved my problems. She painted the most beautiful oil paintings and helped me to just do it. And same goes with life. There is a person, who can be anyone from your relatives to your friend to your lover. It doesn’t matter. What matters is that you find the way with them. It doesn’t necessarily have to be the ‘right’ way. Just the ‘right’ way for you. Either you’ll learn from lessons or gain something. And aren’t you gaining either way? And sometimes you wonder if they came in your life just to make you stronger or make you learn the lessons.

I almost started hating oil paints because I had to learn to apply two layers of paint. And the amount of drying time they took irritated me. I mean why couldn’t it take a little less time? But I forgot that oil paints were connected to our life. They are like the relationships we have. They are difficult and they require ‘time’. They require time to bloom, time to trust and time to really be.

And most of all I learnt that you have to let everything go. You can’t hold everything and expect to gain more. Just let it all go.

And I also learnt that both life and oil painting isn’t easy. You just have to practice and live it. No short cuts.
And I learnt how oil paints and life were similar.

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

22 thoughts on “Friday Art #15- Life and Oil Paints ”

    1. Haha thank you! I am always scared about painting animals. (Because I may have drawn a dog which resembled a goat!😛) Thank you for stopping by! And I totally agree with you that anything worth pursuing is never easy. Well said!😊

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Nice paintings! My favorite thing about oil painting is the layers. You can make those layers opaque or translucent to create beautiful depth or fix mistakes. Liquin is a great medium to speed drying time. Most of my paintings are dry to the touch by the next day and ready for another layer. With any medium, there is a learning curve. You just have to get the hang of it, and there’s no better way than with practice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh. So rightly said. I agree. I mix linseed oil and turpentine to make the paint easy to dry but oh well.. And I painted in my sketchbook without knowing you’d actually have to gesso the page first. 😑 And the paintings on paper turned out much BETTER than the ones I made on the canvas. BAD LUCK. But thank you for the advice and yes I’ll have to practice considering I just started it a week ago. 😄

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

