Is Free Verse a Type of Poem?

Here’s a quick reminder that I wrote this just because I don’t know why free verse qualifies as a poem. Now don’t go ‘Oxford’ on me and just give me the proof that free verse indeed is a poem. I KNOW. I just FEEL like it shouldn’t be. It could be it’s own writing style you know? 

Like I wrote a ‘free verse’ today. It’s just my opinion. And I searched it’s meaning and here’s what I got:

Poem (as given in Cambridge Dictionary) a piece of writing in which words are arranged in separate lines, often ending in rhyme, and are chosen for their sound and for the images and ideas they suggest.

Free verse is a type of poem

I’m not sure about that

I can too write random sentences 

And rhyme ‘sit’ with ‘flat’

No offense to the ones who write it

But what’s the fun in it?

Scraching your head to find the correct words

And rhyming ‘sit’ with ‘lit’.

Why not call a free verse, a prose?

A poem is what it’s called

I understand the difference 

It’s like distinguishing a hairy person from a bald. 

Author: Vrushali

I'm a under grad student and I love books, art and writing among many other things. I blog about all of them and all things that are beautiful!

2 thoughts on “Is Free Verse a Type of Poem?”

Leave a Reply

